CONTACT US:    406.243.6022    •    email    •    MORE >

CONTACT US:    406.243.6022    •    •    MORE >


Letters About Literature

Letters About Literature is a national reading and writing promotion program for children grades 4–12, sponsored by the Montana Center for the Book at Humanities Montana, and the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress. Each fall, we invite students to write to an author of their choosing, living or dead, whose book they have found especially meaningful. State and national winners are announced in the spring.

The 2016 state winners are:

Level 1 — grades 4-6

  • First place — Madeline Gilder from Hamilton wrote to Robert Munsch, author of Love You Forever
  • Second place — Chase Williams from Missoula wrote to Madeleine L'Engle, author of A Swiftly Tilting Planet
  • Third place — Jenna O'Hearn from Corvallis wrote to Colleen Houk, author of Tiger's Quest

Level 2 — grades 7-8

  • First place — Maeve Daley from West Yellowstone wrote to Kate DiCamillo, author of The Tale of Despereaux
  • Second place — Name withheld from Fairfield wrote to Emily Rodda, author of Deltora Quest
  • Third place — Connor Klick from Simms wrote to Gregory Moore, author of Fish

Level 3 — grades 9-12

  • First place — Isabella Christensen from Lolo wrote to Anne Frank, author of The Diary of Anne Frank
  • Second place — Katie Armstrong from Missoula wrote to Alex McAulay, author of Oblivion Road
  • Third place — Jessica Yorgason from Missoula wrote to Ann M. Martin, author of A Dog's Life

Letters About Literture awards prizes on both the state and national levels. Each participating state center has its own panel of judges who select the top essayists in the state. State Winners will receive a cash award and advance to the national level judging. A panel of national judges for the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress will select one National Winner per competition level to receive a $1,000 cash award. The judges will also select one National Honor per competition level to receive a $200 cash award.