The 2021 Governor’s Humanities Awards

Share this:

Sign Up

Thank you for joining us!

Thank you so much to our five Governor’s Humanities Award recipients: Dorothy Bradley, Janine Pease, Jim Robbins, Jim Scott, and Chrysti Smith. Your work truly underscores the power of the humanities by encouraging communities to be stronger, resilient in the face of divisions, and confident in coming together over the most pressing issues. We so appreciate our generous sponsors who helped make this celebration possible. 

Missed it or would like to watch it again?

Thank you to all of you–our community–for supporting us, for choosing to engage in conversations, and for accessing the humanities to spark new ideas, build community, and strengthen civic engagement.

Meet the 2021 Awardees

About the GHAs

The Governor’s Humanities Awards recognize individuals and organizations who have made significant contributions to the public humanities, consequently transforming lives and strengthening Montana’s communities.

Leaders in the public humanities engage the public in reflecting on diverse cultures, traditions, and histories, and the humanities’ influence on the current conditions of life. Past awards have recognized the achievements of historians, novelists, tribal elders, philosophers, librarians, teachers, and other cultural leaders. The Governor’s Humanities Awards committee is comprised of Humanities Montana board members Carla Homstad (chair), David Dietrich, Jamie Doggett, Jeanette Fregulia, and Aaron Parrett.


September 30, 2021
6 p.m., online



David and Jan Dietrich

Laura Mitchell Ross and John Walker Ross


Caroline and Don Bitz

The Montana History Foundation

Preserve Montana

Rocky Mountain College


Carla Homstad

Montana PBS

Montana Public Radio