2003 - 2003

2003 Major Accomplishments

  • Fourth Montana Festival of the Book.
  • Screening of Stone Reader and appearance by director Mark Moskowitz.
  • Gala readers include Leif Enger, Robert Wrigley, and David Quammen.
  • Inauguration of One Book Montana with Mildred Walker’s Winter Wheat. More than fifty groups statewide participate, Montana Public Radio and Yellowstone Public Radio readings and panels.
  • Governor’s Humanities Award honorees include Diana Eck, Harry Fritz, Sue Hart, Cindy Kittredge, and James Welch.
  • Major grants include “Confluence of Cultures” and “Montana and the Silk Road.”
  • MCH former chair Jamie Doggett retires as chair of the board of directors of the Federation of State Humanities Councils.
  • READON! becomes OpenBook.
  • Book festival grants in Billings, Great Falls, and Helena.